Asia Through Video Games

General talk. News, religion, politics, your daily life, whatever, it goes here. Just keep it clean.
Ian Nathaniel Cohen
Saith Pirate
jedwabna poszewka na poduszkę 70x80

Asia Through Video Games

Post by Ian Nathaniel Cohen »

Among the many other things I am, I'm an adjunct professor at FIU, where I teach an online course entitled "Asia Through Film," which is basically about what we Westerners can learn about Asian culture, society, etc. from Asian cinema.

In honor of <a href="http://www.wintereenmas.com/">Winter-een-mas,</a> I'd like to have a discussion that week about "Asia Through Video Games" which would be discussed on the course's discussion board.

I have some ideas about what kind of stuff to talk about, but I'd be interested in hearing some of your suggestions for questions to raise about the way Asians are portrayed in video games - and Asian cultural points that come across in video games and RPGs.

Any thoughts on this?
"Things need not have happened to be true. Tales and dreams are the shadow-truths that will endure when mere facts are dust and ashes, and forgot."

Dream, Neil Gaiman's "A Midsummer Night's Dream"

meg
Black Dragon Wizard

Post by meg »

if you're doing that, boon-ga bon-ga must be included.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boong-Ga_Boong-Ga

exigence
Blue Dragon Ninja

Post by exigence »

meg wrote:if you're doing that, boon-ga bon-ga must be included.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boong-Ga_Boong-Ga
thats the crazyist thing iv seen yet from japan and iv seen quite a few crazy things from japan

anyways nate mabey somthing about why alot of the women in video games seem to be real busty and are always scantily clad

meg
Black Dragon Wizard

Post by meg »

uhh. i'm gonna take a wild guess here and say the busty scantily clad women are because games are very often made by men, for men.

that's not a japan thing. that's a male thing.

exigence
Blue Dragon Ninja

Post by exigence »